Join our mailing list!



The 2nd Annual DCJazzPrix™ Winners


AMP Trio Featuring Tahira Clayton: Pianist Addison Frei, drummer Matt Young, and bassist Perrin Grace met as students at the prestigious University of North Texas jazz program. Now in their 5th year as a band, AMP Trio, is preparing to release their third full length record, Three, later this spring. AMP Trio brought vocalist Tahira Clayton into the fold with their second album, m(y)our world, In the last year AMP Trio and Tahira Clayton have been heard at the Mid-Atlantic Jazz Festival in Rockville, MD, the Kitchen Café in Dallas, TX, and Kerrytown Concert House in Ann Arbor, MI among others. They have collaborated in New York at venues such as Rockwood Music Hall and the Cell Theatre. AMP Trio has also performed alongside talented artists such as saxophonists Tim Green and Quamon Fowler and trumpeter John Raymond. AMP Trio has recorded together as a rhythm section for albums by Aaron Hedenstrom, Spenser Liszt and Adam Hutcheson. (Find out more at



2016 's winner was the New Century Jazz Quintet (NCJQ). Based in New York City, NCJQ is co-led by drummer Ulysses Owens, Jr., and pianist Takeshi Ohbayashi, with Braxton Cook, on alto saxophone; Benny Benack III on trumpet and vocals; and bassist Yasushi Nakamura




NCJQ competed in the Finals, June 18, 2016, against two exceptional fellow finalists - the New York City-based Cowboys and Frenchmen, and Washington, DC's Mark G. Meadows & The Movement.  All three bands presented solid, swinging 20-minute sets, exciting the audience throughout.



For questions about the competition, requirements, eligibility, or travel/accommodation, please contact
DC Jazz Prix, JazzPrix