Listen to the 2017 DCJF Artists for Free on Spotify Now!



The 2nd Annual DCJazzPrix™ Competition


Click here to apply!

Application period ends at 5 PM ET on March 4, 2017


One hot, young band out of three DCJazzPrix™ semifinalists will win it all. Experience the inaugural DCJazzPrix™ Finals: hear three semifinalist bands, and you - the audience - will help us to pick the winner! 

DCJazzPrix™, a national competition, now in its second year, was created to recognize the finest rising jazz band talent from across the U.S. The winning band is to be honored with a $15,000 award and receive pivotal professional development and visibility through a year-long association with DCJF.

2016 's winner was the New Century Jazz Quintet (NCJQ). Based in New York City, NCJQ is co-led by drummer Ulysses Owens, Jr., and pianist Takeshi Ohbayashi, with Braxton Cook, on alto saxophone; Benny Benack III on trumpet and vocals; and bassist Yasushi Nakamura




NCJQ competed in the Finals, June 18, 2016, against two exceptional fellow finalists - the New York City-based Cowboys and Frenchmen, and Washington, DC's Mark G. Meadows & The Movement.  All three bands presented solid, swinging 20-minute sets, exciting the audience throughout.


Check back for more details and updates about the 2017 DCJazzPrix™!


For questions about the competition, requirements, eligibility, or travel/accommodation, please contact
DC Jazz Prix, JazzPrix